Practice Comprehension 1.

There are four major domains of the Earth- Lithosphere, Atmosphere, Hydrosphere and Biosphere. The solid portion of the earth is called Lithosphere. The large land masses are known as continents. All continents lie in lithosphere.

There are seven continents. Asia is the largest continent and Australia is the smallest continent. Australia is called an island continent. The part of the earth which is covered with water is called Hydrosphere- The Pacific Ocean, The Atlantic Ocean, The Indian Ocean, The Southern Ocean and The Arctic Ocean. The Pacific Ocean is the largest ocean.

The earth is surrounded by a layer of gases called the atmosphere. There are five layers in the atmosphere. The Biosphere is the narrow zone of contact between the land, water and air.

Answer the following questions:-

1)How many domains of the earth are there?

Ans. There are four major domains of the Earth.

2) What is Lithosphere?

Ans. The solid portion

of the earth is called Lithosphere. All continents lie in lithosphere.

3) Which continent is called island continent?

Ans. Australia is called an island continent.

4) What is Hydrosphere?

Ans. The part of the earth which is covered with water is called Hydrosphere.

5) Which ocean is the largest ocean of the world?

Ans. The Pacific Ocean is the largest ocean.

6) What is Atmosphere?

Ans. The earth is surrounded by a layer of gases called the atmosphere.

1. How many layers are there in the atmosphere?

A. 6 B. 4 C. 5

2. ______ is the narrow zone of contact between the land, water and air.

A. Lithosphere. B. Biosphere. C. Atmosphere

3. How many continents are there?

A. 5 B. 6 C. 7